Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Bleeding my radiant heat system and some basic questions

Options
johnsmith303
johnsmith303 Member Posts: 4
edited June 2023 in Radiant Heating
Hello:

I think there's some air trapped in my radiant heating system because I hear a lot of gargling and bubbling when the system is running. The picture below is how I think my system works, but I have no experience in this. I basically started from the water heater (on the upper right), because I know what the pipes are from the manual. Then I worked backwards. However, I can't tell where the system gets input water from, and where it dispenses hot water to the house, so I'm not confident in my understanding. If anyone can figure it out based on the picture, that would be helpful.

In order to bleed the system, I think I have to:
1) Close the two yellow valves next to the pump in order to bypass it
2) Connect a source hose to outlet 2 to supply water
3) Connect an exit hose to outlet 1 to let water out.

Is this correct?

Also, the heater is providing hot water to the rest of my house. So does that mean I have use potable water to bleed my system?

Thanks in advance.

Edit 1: Add better pictures

Comments

• STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,505
    Options
    Can you also post a pic that isn’t marked up?

There was an error rendering this rich post.

Derheatmeister
  • EdTheHeaterMan
    EdTheHeaterMan Member Posts: 7,852
    edited May 2023
    Options
    Your description of the filling/purging process may be right... tough to tell.

Does the pressure reducing valve pictured serve the whole house, or is that the automatic feed valve for the closed loop boiler system? It appears to be for the whole house.