Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Martian Radiator Design

Options
Airlaz
Airlaz Member Posts: 2
Hello,
I am a mechanical engineering student working on designing a radiative hot water heater for a small room designed to withstand Martian temperatures. I am working on the earth analog system and am looking for guidance on a few design parameters. The room is small (8mx4mx9m), and is underground and well insulated (0.1524m of xps insulation). Analysis has shown that heat transfer into concrete and dirt is negligible. The system will have access to 95C hot water. The heating requirements for the system is to cyclically heat the system from a low steady state to a high steady state (Delta of 11C). Using first order approximations, to heat this room in 2 hours, it would require around 600W. This number is currently a liberal estimate due to waiting on final calculations of interior thermal mass and other heat loss elements. I would expect this to at a max require 200 more watts. Assuming 800 watts required over 2 hours, using q=mc(T1-T0), the water mass flow rate required is 1.72 L/m with a water temperature delta of 10C. This number doesn't account for inefficiencies in the radiator, so I am assuming a safety factor of 1.5 on this calculation. The calculated radiative surface area required is .504 m^2, assuming an overall heat transfer coefficient of 45.

My main questions are:
Is using a 10C delta in the water temperature reasonable?
Is 1.72 L/m a reasonable flowrate for a hot water radiator?
Is .504 m^2 a reasonable surface area required?
Is an overall heat transfer coefficient of 45 reasonable, or is there a resource to find a value or range of values for this application?

Comments

• mattmia2
    mattmia2 Member Posts: 9,637
    Options