Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Crown boiler is cycling on & off

Options

Greetings
This is my first time using heating help so any advice you could offer would be greatly appriciated. I have a Crown cast iron sealed combustion CSC 125,000 BTU gas boiler that is cycling on and off. The on / off cycles last around 13 to 30 seconds. I don't know why it is cycling. 20 years ago I installed this system. The controller is a Tekmar 370 house controller. It has a side arm for DHW. I have in floor staple up heat. It has a primary & secondary loop with variable speed injection. Pressure going to DHW is 15 PSI. Temp in primary loop and boiler is 120 to 135 degrees. When it cycles the gas low water cutoff also turns on & off (as it should). I am an electrician by trade and took two semesters at a local community college to learn how to install the boiler & the radiant heat. This system has been nearly bullet proof all these years. In the last 3 months I did have problems with the DHW temperature being too hot. At first I tried replacing the aquastat in the sidearm & that didn't work. I then replaced my three way mixing valve & that corrected the temperature problem. Other than that I have not had any problems with this heating system in 2 decades. It workes so well. You should know that I have not done any maintenance on this system the entire time. My guess it that it is some sort of carbon buildup. If you think a part replacement is required could you include what you would try first. I am 62 years old & near the end of my career but if I could go back in time & choose a different career I would choose hydronics. It's like a blend of electrical & plumbing. The type of heat it produces is so sweet & comfortable.
EdTheHeaterManMikeAmann

Comments

• EdTheHeaterMan
    EdTheHeaterMan Member Posts: 7,834