Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Mark II HW control problem

I built this house, physically, in 1993. I had a hand in everything, including the installation of floor heat supplied by 2 Mark II HW units running at 100,000btu. The have a controller that has an outdoor sensor.

I'm an electrician, by trade, so I understand how everything works.

I'll tell the whole story. I noticed that the floors were getting cold in our bedroom. All of the thermostats were calling for heat. There are 7 zone valves. The first thing I checked were the positions of each valve and they were all open. I noticed the quiet in the boiler room. The system pump wasn't working. The floor had been drained of it's heat. I bypassed the pump relay and let it run full time. Well that created a monster flywheel because it took so long for the thermostats to get a reading the temperature rose to 85° turning on the a/c.

Now, this happens every fall at the beginning of the heating season, but we know about that, but we were unprepared for living in a sauna.

All it took was time, but in running some test cycles the unit shut down on the safety circuit, not the temperature control circuit. That was charging the system with 215° water.

We have a combination of ceramic and vinyl floors with floor heat and baseboard heat that looks like actual baseboard where we have wood floors. My wife noticed that the baseboard, and a modern radiator in the bathroom was extra hot.

I diagnosed that it was a problem with the controller sensor. It read continuity hot or cold. I've kept a full crib of spares since 1995. I bought the complete service box and have replaced the components each time I use one.