Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Heating system setup question (Boiler Demand on Tekmar 256)

vciecierski
vciecierski Member Posts: 13
edited December 2022 in THE MAIN WALL
Hello, we just moved to a new place with the following setup: Buderus G115/5 boiler (with Tekmar 256 OTR and Honeywell Aquastat L8148A 1124). SuperStor 80G indirect water heater. 2 Air handlers. Grundfos circulator. There are three Taco valve zones (1 for the SuperStor, 1 for AH in attic and 1 for AH in Basement). 3 Nest thermostats. I am no expert by any means but I noticed a few things that don’t make sense to me:

1. Tekmar’s temperature sensor is connected to the RETURN line, not SUPPLY like I would expect. Is this normal?

2. Aquastat has only upper limit control and is set to 180. With this temperature on the Aquastat, the Tekmar and the circulator do not behave the way I would expect. Basically when there is a call for heat from the thermostats, the taco valves open sending a signal to the Tekmar, Tekmar then displays “Boiler Demand” BUT it does not trigger the circulator and/or boiler. I expected the boiler demand on the Tekmar to trigger the circulator and the boiler (if temperature is not hot enough). Only the "burner icon" on the Tekmar triggers the circulator and boiler to turn on simultaneously. When the Aquastat detects the upper limit temperature, it turns off the boiler and keeps the circulator running. Is this normal (the boiler demand not triggering anything)?

Any info on this set up would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Pictures for reference:

Comments

• hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,702
    Tekmar manuals do a good job of explaining the operation and showing how it should be wired and configured. Did you trace out all the wiring to the tekmar.
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA