Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Touch less faucet question

Options
ChrisJ
ChrisJ Member Posts: 15,708
My sister is having a strange issue and I have no experience with these faucets.

It's a 3 hour drive to her house and it's difficult to figure out over the phone..

They're having issues with showers getting cold even though there's plenty of hot water and it seems like we've traced it back to the kitchen faucet....

It's a touch less faucet that apparently you set the temperature using it's single handle but then it turns on and off electrically?

Are there times these faucets allow cold water to flow into the hot side?  I would assume there must be check valves of sorts?  Do they get clogged easily?  Is this a common problem or are we barking up the wrong tree?

This is the faucet in question.

Single pipe quasi-vapor system. Typical operating pressure 0.14 - 0.43 oz. EcoSteam ES-20 Advanced Control for Residential Steam boilers. Rectorseal Steamaster water treatment

Comments

• mattmia2
    mattmia2 Member Posts: 9,670
    Options
    check valves cost money so i bet there are none. try turning the ball off and see if the problem goes away. if my mission were to build the world's cheapest faucet the electric valve would be a single valve after the valve that sets the flow/mixing.
    ChrisJ
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,158
    Options
    Must be some device between H&C to prevent crossing over

My son installed that exact valve. It doesn’t like me, or it is my operator error. So I end up turning on the handle anyways😂
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
    ChrisJ
  • ChrisJ
    Options
    hot_rod said: