Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Am I nuts?

I built a new shop. I had a professional design done for the floor. It’s installed as designed and the concrete is poured. I’m trying to decide on a boiler. I’m considering this: https://s3.amazonaws.com/s3.supplyhouse.com/product_files/Laars-JX050NPIU1-Brochure.pdf
not from here but from my local supplier.
I know it’s an 80%er, but I’ve had the older version of this boiler (jvs125) running flawlessly in my basement for 25+ years. Is it crazy to go old school? Are the wall Mount units really that much better? If so, what would you use? Plumber by trade so I can buy just about anything from the local supply houses. I had a customer who I helped limp a quietside through 10 years of constant trouble because the original installer vanished and no one else would touch it. That’s what I’m trying to avoid. Everyone is trying to sell me and I don’t know what to believe. Thanks in advance for the advice. 

Comments

• EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,453
    two schools of thought

mod con saves on fuel because they modulate to meet the load and with a radiant system, you're in condensing mode all the time so that saves fuel. but they cost more and have a shorter life span. So it really is a mod con job. This coming from a conventional boiler guy

put in what your comfortable with
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,024
    you would want a mixing valve and a return temperature protection method or device on a standard boiler like that. Especially when connected to a high mass distribution. Add that into the calculation

plus combustion air into the boiler location 

Is it all one zone?
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
    reggi
  • gracecon1
    gracecon1 Member Posts: 4
    It is one zone. Nine 260ish feet loops