Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

I put an Anode in a steam boiler

jhewings
jhewings Member Posts: 139
Two years ago.

Comments

• jhewings
    Looks like I could have changed it last year
  • random12345
    random12345 Member Posts: 469
    I'm not a pro, please explain to me like I'm 5 (ELI5), why would you do that? Does it really help slow corrosion?
  • jhewings
    edited October 2022
    I did it because I saw an "installation tips" from a boiler manufacturer (US Boiler I think) which said "consider an anode". I am not sure what is the significance of the condition of the anode after 2 years. i guess I was worried because I had previously rerouted 2 out of 26 radiators with copper connected directly to black iron and the connections are now hard to reach.
  • 109A_5
    109A_5 Member Posts: 1,388
    Hello @jhewings,

Wow I don't think they get used up that fast in a hot water tank. I wonder if you maintain a good anode rod if it will extend the life of the boiler.

I would think with a lack of fresh water it would last forever.
    National - U.S. Gas Boiler 45+ Years Old
    Steam 300 SQ. FT. - EDR 347
    One Pipe System
  • MikeAmann
    MikeAmann Member Posts: 998
    Try a powered titanium anode. It does not get consumed and has a forever warranty.
    I will give you a link if you ask.
    SuperTechLarry Weingarten
  • ChrisJ
    ChrisJ Member Posts: 16,097
    MikeAmann said:

Try a powered titanium anode. It does not get consumed and has a forever warranty.

I would love to use one on my water heater, but I wasn't able to find one compatible with Bradford White heaters where it's combined into the outlet.
    Single pipe quasi-vapor system. Typical operating pressure 0.14 - 0.43 oz. EcoSteam ES-20 Advanced Control for Residential Steam boilers. Rectorseal Steamaster water treatment
  • 109A_5