Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Single Pipe Steam Questions

Options
Xter9
Xter9 Member Posts: 6
Hello all,

This is my first time having a single pipe steam system. I have a few questions regarding my system and how I can better it to hopefully make my home more comfortable come winter and hopefully save on the 375 dollar gas bills. 

I just bought this home almost a year ago and last winter the system was good enough to manage through and keep things alright. 

Here’s a diagram of my system roughly. 

I know the cast iron baseboards are a no in these systems. The one in the back bedroom works great and keeps the room really warm compared to the rest. Upstairs bathroom is good enough. Middle room was good too. My front bedroom was always about 7-8 degrees colder yet was one of the first to fill with steam I believe. Would a swap in air vents help?

now for my downstairs, the kitchen, mud room, and front living room baseboard do almost nothing. If left to go long enough they eventually warm up and produce heat like the cast iron radiators but it takes longer then my furnace tends to cycle so I cold spots. Last year I ran an electric oil radiator to help maintain the mud room being that room has the largest of windows and cold spots. I assume it’s the 3/4” piping and valves causing me issues here and probably the air vents but being properly positioned for a single pipe system. Is there anything I can do to help with these? Replacement is preferably last ditch but if solves the heating and reduces my gas bill I’m ok with it. Only the mud room I can’t replace easily. Kitchen would be a hassle due to space. Living room one doesn’t do much so I’m ok on just turning the valve off if that’ll help other areas in my system being there’s a large cast iron radiator in there too only 10 foot away that works great.