Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Pump Location on a 3-Way Mixing Valve

Alan (California Radiant) Forbes
Alan (California Radiant) Forbes Member Posts: 4,170
edited January 2022 in THE MAIN WALL
When you do things wrong, hydronics can be very forgiving.

8.33 lbs./gal. x 60 min./hr. x 20°ΔT = 10,000 BTU's/hour

Two btu per sq ft for degree difference for a slab
Solid_Fuel_Man

Comments

• Jlinde37
    Jlinde37 Member Posts: 31
    I'm no expert but shouldn't the pump be pulling from the mixing valve?
  • Alan (California Radiant) Forbes
    Alan (California Radiant) Forbes Member Posts: 4,170
    edited January 2022
    I'm no expert but shouldn't the pump be pulling from the mixing valve?
    Yes, it should, but it seems to be working alright as it's been this way for years.

• dopey27177
    dopey27177 Member Posts: 887
    Pump needs to pump to the 3 way valve.

Jake
  • heathead
    heathead Member Posts: 237
    Sorry I don't understand is that thing under the yellow caution sticker a plate heat exchanger? Sorry Allen but can you explain the flow path. Thanks

• 8.33 lbs./gal. x 60 min./hr. x 20°ΔT = 10,000 BTU's/hour

• EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 16,092
    edited January 2022
    That's a strange configuration but I guess there's nothing wrong with it. Mixinging is 2 inlets and 1 outlet so it looks to me like it will work. I was confused but the piping on the HX. With Brazed plates are the in and out always on the same side and plate and frames they cross lile an X??
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,814
    As Dan always teaches, what goes into a tee must come out of a tee.

But with a 3 port fitting, how much goes which way. The path of least resistance thru the valve would see the most flow.
    Or is the least resistance thru the FPHX and into that port of the 3 way.