Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Sizing Radiators

Options
Hi All,
I'm a beginner to steam heat and reading as much as I can about it. I'm trying to size two radiators (one room is missing a radiator, the other has several hairline fractures in it). I used some online calculators, but was hoping someone here could shed some light on my figures.
Thanks!

First Bedroom
10'x10'x8' Bedroom
22sf of windows
2 exterior insulated brick walls facing north and west
Heated living room below, Pitched roof attic insulated above
Online calculators are giving me results of:
737watt or 2515btu calling for a: 19" high, 8 section, 4 tube radiator
This seems small compared to the 19", 12 section, 6 tube radiator that used to be in the room.

Second Bedroom
12'x10'x8' Bedroom
25sf of windows
2 exterior un-insulated brick walls facing south and east
Heated dining room below, Pitched roof attic insulated above
Online calculators are giving me results of:
836watt or 2853btu calling for a: 19" high, 10 section, 4 tube radiator
This also seems small compared to the 19", 18 section, 6 tube radiator that is currently in the room.

Comments

• EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,574
    Options
    I would do heat loss for a few of the rooms where the radiators are good and check those # against the btus of the radiation installed.

For example if you find your other good radiation is 15 % oversized to the heat loss your getting then oversize your replacements the same way.

Otherwise you will have balancing problems
    njsteambeginner201
  • EdTheHeaterMan
    EdTheHeaterMan Member Posts: 7,926
    Options