Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Oil boiler high/low temp

Options
jmoser201
jmoser201 Member Posts: 4
edited December 2021 in Oil Heating
Recently moved into a home that has an oil boiler which provides hot water for baseboard heating and an indirect hot water tank. I just had a plumber/hvac guy out to replace the expansion tank and he noticed the Honeywell high/low setting which is currently set at 180/160 with a diff of 10. He said the low was set too high and put it at 120. I researched and that seems way too low for an oil boiler, but I’m not an expert. Does anyone know what the best settings would be for my system? It’s a peerless boiler from 1989

Comments

• STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,505
    edited December 2021
    Options
    The first thing to determine is if the knobs are measuring the boiler temperature accuratly.
    Do you have a tankless coil (coil inside boiler to make domestic hot water) or an actual indirect storage tank?
    You must have a mixing valve to temper the water reaching the fixtures, in either scenario.

If you have an indirect, I would change the aquastat to something like a Hydrostat 3250 plus. Make it cold start, low limit off, and utilize circulator hold off, as well as the other features.

If you have a tankless coil, the temperature of the incoming cold water directly affects the domestic hot water output. Right now 120/160 might be fine, but when your incoming cold water gets down into the high 30's/low 40's, you won't get the hot water you need for showers.
    If it is a tankless coil, you need to realize you are making domestic hot water in the least efficient, least consistently comfortable manner, with ancient technology.

There was an error rendering this rich post.

MikeAmann
  • jmoser201
    Options