Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Taco Viridian VT2218 Electronic Reliability

I have a very large old house 1904, 2main floors are 2500 square feet each. 3rd floor ballroom and servants quarters.  Purchased in a fit of insanity.  Originally 1 zone gravity hot water heat. Previous owner allowed everything to freeze.  I am a journeyman industrial maintenance mechanic so I am familiar with technical issues.  I did and am doing repairs and improvements. Installation of Weil McLain Ultra 310 boiler and zoning was the start.   It would be a very long story I can tell some time if there is any interest. 
  Well back to the taco viridian, I brought a new zone (zone2) back to life about 3 years  ago. I upgraded the circulator to a Taco Veridian VT2218. 
Have these had a lot of electronic control reliability issues?  
Last year it didn’t start pumping  a couple of times( power and display on).  A couple of days ago it didn’t start, no errors on display. I cycled power to the pump and it started. Today no heat on its zone again. Boiler and zone 1 running  Pump display is on. Running delta T mode 20 degrees. Pump not  running no watt readout. Both temp sensors working. I held down the up button for 3 seconds to activate the full speed override feature per manual.  Display showed the message “full speed override” but pump did not run.  Cycling power did not get pump to run. No locked rotor message either.  
I have a second one of these pumps that I was going to install on zone one.  So I came down to put it in as a replacement for the zone 2 pump.  Well the thermostat kicked in and this darn pump started right up!  I hate intermittent faults! I hate frozen pipes even more!  
  So has anybody else had reliability issues with these pumps?  Am I just unlucky?  

Comments

• EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 16,092