Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Could a brand new brown boiler be cracked?

Options
jdp1219
jdp1219 Member Posts: 41
Just got a new Crown boiler installed and after letting it run for the first 5 minutes, a liquid and something burnt up dropped near the pilot.  My friend said it could be something burning off since the boiler is brand new.  I'm afraid its cracked.  Anyone hear of new boilers dripping when they first run because of factory chemicals or joint compound melting?

Comments

• JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,061
    Options
    Is it hot water or steam?
  • LS123
    LS123 Member Posts: 466
    Options
    Hi, I am not a pro, its possible during the install your service provider may have left something unintentionally... it sounds like you have a gas boiler... I would call the people who installed it right away... dont try to fix anything, perhaps this might be a job for pros who installed the new boiler.... best
    Thank you!
    @LS123
  • jdp1219
    Options
    JUGHNE said:
    Is it hot water or steam?
    It is a steam boiler.
  • LS123
    LS123 Member Posts: 466
    Options
    @jdp129 if you take things apart and troubleshoot one you could get harmed, two you may end up loosing service level agreements and possibly warranty... if you just got it installed I would be calling the people right away.... especially on a new install of a steam boiler....best!
    Thank you!
    @LS123
  • EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,525
    Options
    The good news is if you don't see water leaking it's probably not cracked
  • jdp1219
    Options
    I saw water leaking for the first five minutes and then it stopped.  A few drops came down and hit the pan under the burners.
  • jdp1219
    Options
    Condensation possibly. When you say leak what do you mean?

How full is your boiler?