Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Steam Expert Serving Southern Maine?

Options
Hi all,

I am a newbie homeowner of a 100 year old house and steam heating system. Ever since moving in, we have had A TON of unpleasant noise from the radiators, each with a different issue -- loud hissing, extreme banging, annoying gurgling, high-pitched whistling, you name it. We've had various folks come out to evaluate the system, but none seem to be expert enough in steam to know how to solve our issues.

Here's what we've already done ourselves: replaced all of the valves (in some cases this made the noise worse?!) and leveled the radiators (didn't solve banging whatsoever). A new boiler was installed before we moved in, and we had a plumber skim the new boiler last winter. He suggested that would help, but it hasn't at all. I've checked and our pressuretrol is set at the lowest level.

Based on my research here and elsewhere, I suspect we need main line valves installed (we currently have none), and the system rebalanced, but we aren't skilled enough to do this ourselves. Can anyone recommend a reliable steam expert that serves southern Maine? We did find one via this site, but despite several chases we haven't been able to get him to come out. Any and all recommendations welcome. We are expecting our first child so we really need to get this figured out once and for all before next winter! Many thanks.

Comments

• JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,062
    Options
    By main line valves do you mean "steam main air vents"?

Pictures of boiler floor to ceiling piping shown, several angles, might get you some advice to pass on to an understanding plumber. Also show us the end of the steam mains, back up for pictures.
  • kcopp
    kcopp Member Posts: 4,432
    Options
    How south in Maine?
    York or Cumberland County?