Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Wiring time delay relay for steam boiler with smart Stat

Options
This thread is in reference to a couple recent ones discussing usage of a time delay relay to limit boiler burn time and set delay before refire. Specifically my question is concerning the wiring where it may or may not be as straightforward as "in series with the stat". I am no electrician but would like to be able to wire this myself if at all possible so seeking some advise from others that may better comprehend the situation.

I have a smart thermostat that needs continuous power thus it has a 3 wire system with a common wire. When it was originally put in I had issues because the way it was originally wired the power to the stat was really still in series with the ptrol and LWCO so if the LWCO for instance activated it cut the thermostat off from power causing the stat to have to reboot. The reboot would only occur after the LWCO allowed power to be restored to the boiler and this reboot usually ended with the stat causing control issues wildly off target. This issue was completely resolved by wiring a relay in that isolated the thermostat power supply from the control/safety devices. The devices of course still function and shut off the boiler when needed but the stat is allowed to continue to do what it was doing without loss of power. This of course would not be an issue with a simple battery powered thermostat.