Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Energy Kinetics System 2000 EK-2 configuration question

Options
wvriem
wvriem Member Posts: 27
Hi,

Newbie here, so I hope I post this in the right forum. Please forgive & correct me if I didn't.

I've recently bought a house (New England) with a EK-2 boiler feeding two zones - air handlers (First Co.) doing heating (and cooling). The heating coils in the air handlers are rated around 91k BTU (basement and first floor, 4 zones via dampers an ducts) and a smaller one in the loft for the second floor (around 50k BTU, two zones via dampers and ducts), at 140ºF. EK2 can do in the range of 147 to 200k BTU approx depending on setup.

The air handlers are older than the EK2, though they seem to be matched in capacity. I do not know what kind of boiler was in place before.

When both air handlers are working, they can distribute the boiler's heat well enough; after running say 45 minutes I see the return temp at the EK2 at 140-150 and feed at around 175. That seems to stay stable as long as both air handlers are working. I don't have the tools but based on the led indicators and temperature/pressure sensor I estimate about 30-35 ºF difference between feed and return when running steady.

With so many zones in the house both zones concurrently is hardly ever the case. I've scheduled the thermostats to all switch on together in the morning to maximize the time both zones are working together, as this seems to be the optimal situation.

But what happens when the EK2 is only feeding ONE of the air handlers? Obviously this is not going to be able to shift all the heat the EK2 generates, and water temperature will keep rising. The EK2 says it is controlled by the RETURN temperature, and the controller should switch the burners off when return exceeds 170ºF.