Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Pressure Loss in Lower-Level Radiant Heating Zone

chandlms
chandlms Member Posts: 4
Hello, everyone! I recently purchased a home with a 10-year-old boiler (Weil-McClain Ultra) that has been maintained regularly. The house has three heating zones, including (Zone #3) in a finished lower level with radiant heating in the floor/ slab. After a recent service visit when the system was flushed, I've noticed that Zone #3 drops the system's pressure immediately and pretty dramatically (from 15psi down to 4-5psi). So for now I've closed the shutoff valves to this zone to maintain the desired 15psi in the rest of the house.

I've never had a boiler before and I'm new to all this, so I recorded this quick video to show you what I mean. Any ideas? The HVAC company that has serviced this system seems stumped. Thanks in advance for any pointers.

Comments

• GroundUp
    GroundUp Member Posts: 2,030
    Pretty simple explanation, really. The 60 year old iron piping in the slab has begun to leak somewhere. Can you completely isolate each loop individually? This would help you narrow down which loop is the problem and allow you to either attempt a repair or just leave that loop isolated
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,803
    With those v alves and unions you could isolate the loops and determine which one or ones are leaking.
    I'd get a plan B in mind as it's rare to have just one leak in a 50 year old steel pipe system, time is not on your side with this one.
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • chandlms