Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Best way to insulate this pipe in uninsulated space?

newguy101
newguy101 Member Posts: 22
Hi,

I have a baseboard hot water heating system. The upstairs loop runs into the garage attic and then back the house. I took a look at the pipe running in the garage attic (unconditioned space) today, and it seems very poorly insulated to me.

The first picture shows the entire length of pipe in the unconditioned space. The second picture shows that the holes cut in the plywood were not filled with any expandable foam to stop air leaks into the house. The third picture shows that someone wrapped one of the joints in the insulation with some sort of insulated wrap, but then they stopped.

I am not an expert, but this does not look like a job well done. How can I improve this situation? I am assuming I should fill the holes around the pipe where it exits and re-enters the house with expandable foam insulation. I could also try to find some insulated wrap for the rest of the joints in the insulation.

Is there anything else I can do? Is there better insulation than what is currently on there? I would be happy to cut it off and put something else there, if there is something better?

Thanks for the help!!!
Andrew

Comments

• What part of the country do you live in, i.e. how cold does it get?
    8.33 lbs./gal. x 60 min./hr. x 20°ΔT = 10,000 BTU's/hour

Two btu per sq ft for degree difference for a slab
  • MikeL_2
    MikeL_2 Member Posts: 486
    Be careful when relying on pipe insulation to protect piping routed through unconditioned space..    
  • JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,042
    You must be in a fairly warm climate that that pipe has not frozen already. (Also your attic insulation looks minimal, possibly putting heat into the attic to protect the pipe).