Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

What to do with stuck PRVs on clean and checks

TechTok
TechTok Member Posts: 9
Hello, I'm a service tech and the company I work for now wants us to drain steel expansion tanks on every clean and check. Im not keen on this for the reason that 1 90% of the tanks don't have airtrols and take forever to drain, 50% don't have isolation valves, and basically every PRV gets stuck open when you try to re feed water into the system.

If I had it my way I would have bypasses pipes around the PRV on every system as well as airtrols but as you know you have to work with what you got. 

So what would you do? It's not fair to the customer to make them replace the PRV that is never going to be used unless there is an issue and at that point it probably won't work anyways. 

Comments

• JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,042
    If stuck that means failing.....could fail stuck open or never open.

Is the water supply left turned on to the system and is there a low water cutoff?

If replaced and exercised/tested at maintenance visits would probably always function properly.

• TechTok
    JUGHNE said:
    If stuck that means failing.....could fail stuck open or never open. Is the water supply left turned on to the system and is there a low water cutoff? If replaced and exercised/tested at maintenance visits would probably always function properly.
    Yeah they are always left on and rarely is there a LWC on a hot water system.  You're right if tested yearly it would probably work. 
     So I probably need to replace them. 
  • EdTheHeaterMan
    EdTheHeaterMan Member Posts: 7,713
    edited October 2020
    Are you talking about "Draining the Expansion Tank"... the type without a bladder?

Have you tried this?