Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Better way to filter air into furnace for body shop

Ron Jr._3
Ron Jr._3 Member Posts: 603
Helping my buddy out at his collision place. Constant problems with dust in the burner and heat exchanger. I told him a fresh air kit will solve the burner issue. But I'm no expert at handling the inside air part. Longer return duct with more surface area for filters ? Something more electronic? Thanks for any help.

Comments

• SuperTech
    SuperTech Member Posts: 2,139
    It needs more air filtration. More filters or a larger filter with greater surface area for filtration. Might have to get creative with the design of a filter rack. Seal all return ductwork. Get an outdoor combustion air kit for the oil burner. An air boot. That dust will cause big problems with the the burner eventually.
  • STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,506
    edited March 2020
    Radiant for heat.
    Fresh air will help for the burner, and the only way to go. While you're at it, fix the flue pipe and put the barometric damper in the right place.
    The only thing he can do, is when it's safe, take off the filter, blow out all the air parts with air-air side of heat exchanger, blower wheel, etc. And do it every day.
    I have a customer with a cabinet shop, 2 giant furnaces (there when it was just a wearhouse. Blowing out filters and anything else, everyday.
    I told the story here before about the same situation for another customer where that furnace was blowing black fluffy 'snow' all over the parking lot. When I was done cleaning it (off a forklift on a pallet) I took off my pants and sweatshirt and thru them in the trash, drove back to my shop in t-shirt/boxers.
    Air systems in the shop and lots of dust/spray, just don't work, or require constant maintenance.
    steve
    Solid_Fuel_Man