Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Steam Humidification Boilers - Wet steam under high demand? Fulton 40HP

SuperJ
SuperJ Member Posts: 609
My day job is a controls tech working on commercial HVAC systems.
I've got an issue with a some steam humidification boilers. The boilers are Fulton 40hp steam boilers (I think around 1200lb/hr), running at 11psi, they have a 5:1 turn down ratio. They serve several large air handlers for humidification. The issue I've observed is that at high fire with the humidifier valves open past 70% the steam quality seems to suffer. I observe a lot of water pouring out of the remote traps to drain, and my steam meter (I think it's a vortex) reading goes crazy. The remote condensate goes to drain (there is some tempering valves to add cold water).

The feed water has multiple softeners and de-alkalizers, and some sort of water treatment chemical systems. The boiler manufacture rep and the water quality rep both say everything looks good as far they are concerned.

If I run both boiler simultaneously and limit the valve position to 70% the problem goes away.
Since this is commercial steam at 11psi the best practices might be a bit different, but I wondered if any could comment on any red flags they see in the pictures. I could go back and talk to the mechanical contractor.

Two things I wonder about.
1. There is some sort of swing valve above each boiler (is it some sort of check valve?), is this ok and necessary?