Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Pin hole in coil every 17 months. Need help

Options
Home owner hear . Dont know much about heating so bare with me.

3 years ago i had a contractor install a wm gold oil furnace in my house . ( tankless coil system. ) 17 months later coil has pin hole. It was under warranty so he replaced it. We added a preasure reducing valve since pressure in house was reading 90psi. Sure enough almoast 17 months later same thing is going on . Diagnosed as another pin hole in new coil. Contractor wants to install indirect hot water heater now and block off coil. Im no expert but doesnt that have a coil aswell ? Dont want to waist the money if its just masking a bigger issue. Any ideas out there ?

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,326
    Options
    Before you decide to replace the coil (again) or put in an indirect (which does have a coil, but different metals), get your water tested. I expect you will find something amiss there -- pH too low, chlorides too high (maybe both) are good candidates, but something in the water is corroding those coils.

And, I might add, all the other plumbing in the house as well.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    kcoppdelta TZman
  • dscolastico07
    dscolastico07 Member Posts: 17
    Options
    Thank you for the reaponse .. the rest of the plumbing in house is original to 1963 execpt for the fixtures .. Do you think it matters what fixture i get the sample from?
  • DanHolohan
    DanHolohan Member, Moderator, Administrator Posts: 16,528
    Options
    Where are you located?
    Retired and loving it.
  • dscolastico07
    Options
    Southern Newhampshire
  • HVACNUT
    HVACNUT Member Posts: 5,841
    Options
    City or well water?