Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Taco zone valve replacement

Options
Hello all, first time posting here forgive me if i mess up on proper posting etiquette.
I'm also new to hydronic heating systems, and plumbing and mostly anything else to do with a boiler.

I have a quick question about Taco zone valve replacements. I found a couple of my zone valves seem to be corroded. The plunger part seems to be stuck in so water is always allowed to flow through the valve. This also seems to allow for a small leak around the plunger part, which allowed the corrosion to spread to the electronics housing as well. So im looking into my options for replacing these units. It looks like it would take some plumbing work to replace the valves, like cutting pipe and soldering and I'm not excited about that, mostly because i dont have a lot of experience in that kind of work.

Is it possible to replace the inner "guts" of the valve without completely removing the valve housing? I'm wondering if i could just somehow remove just the plunger section of the valve and install a new plunger without removing the actual housing from the pipe system. Is that a good fix or a really dumb idea?

I tried to attach a few photos to show what im working with. hopefully they upload correctly

Comments

• STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,505
    Options

There was an error rendering this rich post.

• DIYStratton
    DIYStratton Member Posts: 2
    Options
    sweet i guess that means its possible. I bet ill probably have to buy the whole assembly and just have a left over valve housing. Thanks for the parts list
  • rick in Alaska
    rick in Alaska Member Posts: 1,457
    Options