Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Steam Problems

Options
kaik
kaik Member Posts: 9
edited December 2019 in Strictly Steam
Hey everyone, I live in a turn of the century loft building with steam heating. My landlord recently had a myriad of different sized hot water radiators installed that were converted to run on a 2 pipe steam system. Now, I’m not a rocket scientist but the condensate return line that was installed is higher than the bottom of some of the radiators. When the boiler kicks on, the water hammer is straight up brutal and once that stops after an hour or 2, most of the radiators sound like they’re boiling water inside and don’t even heat. So, the question I have for you is we’re these installed correctly? Isn’t this a gravity feed system for the condensate return? Is the waterhammer due to the condensate not being able to drain up and over the return branch line since it’s an upwards run? More so, is this dangerous? Because the water hammer is insane. Sorry in advance if these terms aren’t correct. I’ll attach some photos for you as well so you can see what I’m talking about. Thanks for your time!

Comments

• kaik
    Options
    I should also add, there’s 7 radiators running along the same wall. 2 of the 7 are pitched so the condensate slopes (downhill) back into the condensate line. The other ones have an uphill climb back into the condensate line. I’ve attached a picture of the radiator that doesn’t make any waterhammer and is heating evenly.
  • KC_Jones
    KC_Jones Member Posts: 5,739
    Options
    All the ones with condensate lines going up are completely wrong and show the contractor doing the work is clueless. I bet that hammers, wow.

The one that works is pretty obvious why, well obvious to someone who knows.