Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Venting Air from One Pipe Steam Systems

I read a great article on venting one pipe steam systems written by Gerry Gill and Steve Pajek.
They extensively researched (on the Job) on how fast does air need to be removed from a boiler, piping and radiators.

There is valuable charts on vent valve capacities and determining how much air needs to be removed the steam main and recommendations on choosing the main vent valve.

At this juncture I disagree with the size selections of the master vent valve and radiator vent valves.

What is not taken into consideration is the total of radiator valves releasing air while the boiler is making steam.

When I was a consultant my reputation was paramount: I promised the customer that they would pay nothing if I could not cure the problem.

In the early days of career as a consultant I used well tried thumb rules learned from old timers to rectify venting problems.

I got burned on two jobs! It cost me time and money because I paid for the vent valves and did the install.
Although the system operated better it did not cure the problem.

Some time after I did research on air venting and later returned to these jobs and fixed the problem for free.
This resulted in recommendations and many jobs where I made money and received more leads.

I am including an partial chapter from my book Steam the perfect Fluid for heating and some of the problems.

Available at Dan's Library,Barnes and Noble Amazon and Dorrance Publications in Pittsburgh Pa.

Read both articles It is important that you view both methods.

Jacob Myron

Comments

• clammy
    clammy Member Posts: 3,103