Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Radiant System Share

Options
winesalot
winesalot Member Posts: 32
Thought I would share the radiant boiler and main distribution manifold I have been building in the garage of our rental house while we get construction started on our 8100 sqft winery/tasting room/home. The entire building will have 5 slave distribution manifolds (not pictured) feeding nearly 10,000 ft of 1/2" pex tubing in a 6" slab. The main copper lines are 1-1/4". I am not quite done with the 1/2" copper so the prv & back-flow preventer are not in the picture nor is the pressure tank hooked up. (I decided to install a union at the pressure tank but didn't have one on hand so the 1/2" stuff has to wait a day or two.) I have not done a pressure test yet but will shortly.

This is my first time working with copper. It has been a great learning experience

GordyHarvey Ramer

Comments

• hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,139
    Options
    Very nice work. Be sure those headers can accommodate the gpm demand of the zone pumps. 5 circs requiring 6 gpm each would require a header able to handle 30 gpm at 2-4 FPS velocity range.
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • winesalot
    edited January 2019
    Options
    hot rod_7 said:

Very nice work. Be sure those headers can accommodate the gpm demand of the zone pumps. 5 circs requiring 6 gpm each would require a header able to handle 30 gpm at 2-4 FPS velocity range.

All I can say is I paid a professional designer put the plan together for me. A second system designer wanted to quote the parts so he looked over the calculations and design and confirmed it would work well. I sure hope so.