Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New boiler, a blend of old and new

Options
nuke621
nuke621 Member Posts: 1
First of all, thank you all for this forum. Over the last 2 years I have referenced hundreds of discussions on this forum in my passion for learning more about hydronic systems. I am an electrical engineer by trade, but am fascinated by all the controls on these systems. Dad’s a retired plumber and pipe fitter, we talk at length on this subject (he hates PEX, lol, I’m bringing him around). I bought the Modern Hydronic Heating textbook and dug in.

My home is 2000 sq ft, 4 bed/1 bath upstairs, full basement, built in 1904 in Saint Louis, MO. All windows replaced upstairs, quality storm windows on all original wood windows downstairs. Attic insulation removed, air sealed, and replaced with R-50 blown in. House is brick on 1st floor, plaster on brick, no insulation. 2nd floor is framed with various forms of wall construction, 50% is insulated. Re-sided on second floor and had Tyvec put under all siding. I did some real basic J-Calcs and came up with around 85K BTU heat load on 0 degree design day.