Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Ice balls on chimney flashing?

Options
Hi. I looked up at my chimney today (25 F outside) and saw these ice balls by the chimney on the flashing. I’m new to the house this winter, and the chimney could be repointed and the chimney cap definitely is rusting a little. But I have no idea what this is.

We have a 15 year old furnace (just serviced) and new hot water heater, if that helps. It hasn’t rained hear in a week

Any help? Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Fred
    Fred Member Posts: 8,542
    Options
    The cap overhangs the chimney and with a warm chimney, condensation on the cap is running to those two corners of the cap and dripping down on the roof, where it freezes.
    daveinmassGordy
  • Gilmorrie
    Gilmorrie Member Posts: 185
    Options
    Much more info needed, and photos of your boiler system. What does your boiler temp read? You, or someone, needs to measure the flue-gas temp, and adjust the combustion, accordingly.
  • Gordy
    Gordy Member Posts: 9,546
    edited December 2018
    Options
    Agree with @Fred, not a big deal. Better on the roof than on the masonary where it will tear things up.speaking of that masonary if real looks a bit rough shape.
  • daveinmass
    daveinmass Member Posts: 6
    Options
    Thanks for the help so far.
    I’ve attached another pic of the whole chimney for reference. Colder this morning.
    As noted, the furnace is gas and 15 years old. I had it serviced on Friday and the tech mentioned it has 85% efficiency.
    Here are the temp numbers from his check (not sure what they are, but here is how they are listed):
    Flue F: 290.8
    INLT F: 55.7
    NETT F: 235.1

Hope that helps. Again thanks for the assistance.
  • daveinmass
    Options