Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Ideal Temperature sensor results steam

Hinman
Hinman Member Posts: 38
edited November 2018 in Strictly Steam
Novice here. I have a control panel for a 12 unit building. 6 temp sensors in apartments and 6 temp readings on the control panel. Seeing as I have no clue, what is considered a good result in terms of what I set the temp to and what the temp readings show? Meaning if I set the temp to say 71.5... on a well operating system what should the temp in the apartments show? Since it’s steam I doubt it’s going to be 71.5, so what is a good variance before it’s considered not working well? Right now i have it set to 71.5 and after the boiler fires and turns off as it goes through it’s cycle the highest temp in 2 apartments shows 76 and 78(first floor apartments in 3 story building), and the other 4 are between 70 to 74 so there is a very wide range. I’m in the process of properly venting the mains so I’m sure that’s a factor, but if it doesn’t change once I vent the mains properly what is the issue to be corrected to have better balance and get those temps closer to what I set it to? At the individual radiators themselves or somewhere else? Again, I have no idea what variances is considered acceptable at the control panel with steam heating. Attached is an image of the panel. T-RISE on the panel is 1 and the pressuretrol is currently 1lb.

Comments

• neilc
    neilc Member Posts: 2,728
    ideally,
    all 3 floors, and all their apartments, would come to setpoint, period, as you described.
    And as you detail, once the main venting is improved to adequate, you will then move upstairs to the apartments and do venting balancing there.
    hotter areas you will slow the venting,
    then, cooler areas you will speed up venting,