Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Outdoor reset, boiler bypass, primary loop, 140 degrees?

Options
vadimr
vadimr Member Posts: 2
edited October 2018 in THE MAIN WALL
Hello, new member here and was hoping to ask a question.
Long story longer is as follows.
I bought a 17 year old house 3 years ago and I really disliked the baseboard heating on the first floor. I decided to convert the first floor to the radiant heating and keep the 2nd floor with the baseboard radiators. This was also required in order to achieve my kitchen expansion and etc. I have never done this before but I like a challenge. I designed and built the system by myself from some reference diagrams. I could not be happier with it, everything works exactly as I planned. I have no issues with the system at all.

I'm attaching a diagram that I had drawn up when I designed this back in 2016.
Pretty much the only thing I kept was the old cast iron Weil-Mclain boiler. It is going to be replaced with a mod-con boiler in the future but for now I am keeping it until I finish some other projects.

I have a Bell & Gossett 6 zone controller as my main zone controller and in order to run radiant and traditional baseboards from the same boiler I put in ESBE 3 way mixing valve with Tekmar 153 mixing controller for all the zones that are radiant and the baseboard comes off the supply prior to the mixing valve.