Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Boiler cleaners and old radiator systems

Options
DJS
DJS Member Posts: 4
Hi all. Big fan of this site. Just a little about me first. I'm a master plumber and the licensed Hvac holder for my company. Been doing this for about 20 years. I work for a company that installs furnaces and boilers for low income home owners through money from local utilities weatherization program.
Here is my question. I was always taught from early on, that introducing chemicals into a boiler system is a last option. But just about all the boiler manufacturers of condensing boilers are requiring that you must do a boiler system cleaning before changing the boiler. My fear is that this can and will cause leaks throughout these old radiator systems that I will end up spending huge amounts of time fixing or replacing that cant be budgeted for. Am I thinking too much into this?
Also, adding an inhibitor after I install a new boiler. Odds are that even though we are installing condensing boiler, that the clients will not probably do yearly maintenance. I'm worried that if the inhibitor is not checked regularly, it may become the cause of future problems.
I do understand the irony that we're putting in high efficiency systems for people that are not likely to do the proper maintenance. But I have certain AFUE standards that I must meet.

Comments

• kcopp
    kcopp Member Posts: 4,432
    Options
    Things are changing.
    A cast iron block can handle stuff that stainless or aluminum cant.
    Circulators are changing too. The new ECM versions wont last long if you have dirty iron filled water.
    Cleaning the system should not cause leaks unless the system is compromised to start. Cleaning can be done w/ a proper chemical (Fernox, Rgomar, sentinel, etc) or a good power flush.