Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Installing a skim port?

I recently bought a house with a one-pipe steam system. It makes all kinds of knocking and hissing noises so I've been doing a lot of learning on this topic and am now aware of a few different issues with the system. It seems to me that starting with the boiler itself is the best move, and from what I've read, the bouncing water in my sight glass suggests that I should skim it.

There is no skim port and the pressure relief valve is on top of the boiler. I would assume you would install one on the top left side (see picture) but how do I get this open?

I am very new to this and will likely have a bunch of other questions so any and all thoughts are very much apprecaited.

Thanks!

Comments

• Abracadabra
    Abracadabra Member Posts: 1,948
    You'll probably have to cut and chisel that plug out. Drill, grinder, some cold chisels and a hammer will be your friend.
  • LionA29
    LionA29 Member Posts: 255
    What ever you do, keep the scraps out the boiler. You don't what it to be falling inside.
  • Kahooli
    Kahooli Member Posts: 112
    Post more pics of the piping on the other side
  • philly_steam
    philly_steam Member Posts: 12
    Gah. I appreciate the input but yes....having stuff fall into the boiler would seem to be the real risk there. And I don't think I'd personally take that chance.

Just because I'm curious, how is that meant to be opened? I have no doubt that it's in there too tight to get it out but it looks like that big square is intended to have a wrench of sorts to open it. I'm picturing a t-shaped lever thing.

Anyway, here is a pic of the other side. I think the only option would be the top sight glass port but I've read that it isn't a good idea? Not sure how I could keep that from making a mess either.