Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

How to apply heating degree days to gas bill

Motorapido
Motorapido Member Posts: 307
After doing some improvements to my one-pipe steam residential heat system, I got my first gas bill after the improvements. Heating degree days in December were 909 and in January were 894 (Harrisburg, Pennsylvania). That is a difference of about 1.7% warmer in January. With the temperature that close, if my gas bill shows that I used 10% less gas in January than in December, am I reasonably accurate in calculating that I improved my system efficiency by 10%? Nothing else changed. No changes to the house or its insulation, and the thermostat was set at a constant 68 the entire 60 days of comparison. I am new to this type of calculation and need some expert guidance.

Comments

• BobC
    BobC Member Posts: 5,476
    I divide the total BTU's consumed by the degree days to get a number. I did some work on the house this summer and my BTU's/DD number improved by about 33% this winter over last winter.

Bob
    Smith G8-3 with EZ Gas @ 90,000 BTU, Single pipe steam
    Vaporstat with a 12oz cut-out and 4oz cut-in
    3PSI gauge
    MotorapidoNew England SteamWorks
  • Motorapido
    Motorapido Member Posts: 307
    BobC said:

I divide the total BTU's consumed by the degree days to get a number. I did some work on the house this summer and my BTU's/DD number improved by about 33% this winter over last winter.

Bob

Nice work. What were the improvements you made?
  • BobC
    BobC Member Posts: 5,476
    edited February 2017
    i calculated my results by converting all of my gas and electricity bill s into BTU's and dividing that number by the monthly degree days. I figure any electric used in the house is heat just like the gas I burn in the boiler.