Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Hot Air Furnance - Oil Fired - Blowing Cold Air

Options
Steve_in_NH
Steve_in_NH Member Posts: 70
Hello,

I went to a friends house for dinner tonight and they have been having an issue with their heating system. This is their first heating season with the house.

I offered to take a look for them, I'm no expert, but have a general understanding of heating systems and was curious.

The issue is that after the heating cycle has been on, and it does work and heats the house, once the temp is satisfied the blower remains on and blows cold air into the house.

The furnace is in the basement. The return vents on the first floor open directly to the basement, there is no duct work. I did not see any returns from the second floor. There is one duct that it looks like it was just cut off that is blowing heat into the basement. There are two plenums on top of the furnace. One has almost all of the duct work for the house on it. The other one goes to a large decorative cast iron vent near the front entrance door, and there is a large vent in the side of the plenum itself in the basement that was blowing cold air out at me. At first i thought it was the return vent, but then thought it was strange to be up so high so I put my hand in front of it and then i saw the other duct and traced that etc etc. I looked around the unit for a return and didn't see one right way. But there was a louvered area about half way up the unit, very small, about 1'-6"x5", that I'm thinking now must have been the return.