Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Pigtail Clogged?

Options
I'm still learning about steam systems (I have one in my house), so hope this is not a dumb question. I have a six-year old system with both a Vaporstat and a Pressuretrol on it. the Vaporstat ceased working last year, and the repair guy "wired around" it, saying that having both the Vaporstat and Pressuretrol is redundant. That said, this heating season, I'm noticing that the pressure gauge that comes off the Pressuretrol and pig tail sometimes "pegs" all the way to the max when I have run the system for a long time (for example, in zero degree weather. But also noticing it sometimes when I am just heating up the boiler for 15 minutes or so to do a weekly flush. In those instances, the sludge valve has a LOT of steam built up---haven't noticed that before. Is it likely that the pig tail is clogged? Is it as simple as removing the fitting above it and running a small brush (or wire through it)? And is the sealant on the fitting anything special? Or can I just use regular teflon tape when I put things back together?

Comments

• JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,072
    Options
    That repair guy doesn't understand your boiler very well.
    Yes the pressure control is redundant to the vapor stat, however the P-control is most likely set as a high limit safety control.
    Your pressure should be controlled by the vapor stat.
    You are lucky that whoever installed your boiler realized the importance of adding the vaporstat as they are probably not standard equipment.

What does the gauge peg out at?

If you post pictures of the controls and gauge area someone here will give you more advice.

The original installer may be your best bet for future repairs.
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,400
    Options