Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Replacing Taco 007 with a variable circulator

Options
pesiroil
pesiroil Member Posts: 1
hello, I am an electrician and was hoping I could get some advice from yall. Currently have a gas fired hot water system with 4 zone valves and a taco 007-bf5-j circulator.
I started having issues a couple weeks ago with zero water flow through my basement zone and was positive it was an air-lock in the pipes, after many many attempts of getting this airlock out and failing i decided it could be another problem.
i took an amp reading on the circulator and its pulling 1.1amps and the nameplate says .76amps. Out of the three zones the basement is the most complicated and creates a larger head loss then the other two zones. The other three zones are very close in proximity and straightforward zones which apparently the circulator had no issues with.
I could do the easy fix and just replace it with the same circulator, but im reading up on variable speed circulators im willing to pay the extra for the right cireculator and wanted to know if i would have any issues. I also have an aquastat controller that my current circulator is wired to is it the same type of wiring or is there a a type of lowvoltage control wiring needed?
Also delta T or delta p, and is there any variable circulators you would recommend?

Comments

• lchmb
    lchmb Member Posts: 2,997
    Options
    https://www.taco-hvac.com/products/variable_speed_products/vr2218/index.html
    I'm a fan of a nice delta t pump myself. I've used them in many applications and have heard nothing but good savings...
  • BBros
    BBros Member Posts: 41
    Options
    The ECM pumps run 120V same as the 007. Easy to swap out, no additional controls/wiring. Zero issues for you on that front.
  • Joe Mattiello
    Joe Mattiello Member Posts: 707