Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Help with previously hacked Eddy vacuum system.

Options
ardrysda
ardrysda Member Posts: 8
edited December 2016 in Strictly Steam
Hello all,

I have recently purchased a house out of foreclosure in the west Lansing MI area. It heated by a 50's-60's era American Radiator gas fired 1B J1 G47 boiler running an Eddy vacuum system. It is the house referenced in this thread: https://forum.heatinghelp.com/discussion/comment/1310015#Comment_1310015

The previous owner, as can be seen above, knew enough to feel confident in altering the system, but in actuality really just ended up hacking the system up somewhat. I have experience in the engineering side of steam power generation plants, and feel that his changes can probably be reversed (by the right contractor- I have no experience in pipe fitting).

Unfortunately I have a couple of major issues right now

1) I have steam leak in the boiler above the water level, I am adding 2-3 gallons a day and have verified it is going out the stack, I haven't opened the boiler to find the leak but will be doing that this weekend (weather permitting). The system will not go into vacuum because of this. If i can access the leak, would something like JB weld potentially help get through the winter? New house, 2 young children- really need to get through the heating season.