Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Direct vs P/S

Options
DC123
DC123 Member Posts: 69
For the KHN-085 or the UFT80, are there are any set-ups where they could not be piped direct? Would like to avoid P/S if possible due to added expense and energy use of the extra pump, but I don't want to compromise the overall functionality. I have two zones with about 75 feet of fin tube per zone (total 150 ft). Piping seems complicated and some of the baseboard seems to branch off as 3/4" from a main loop of 1" pipe. Currently, the existing cast iron boiler is pumped by a series 100. Please let me know if any pictures or additional details would be helpful.

Comments

• EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,552
    Options
    This is just my own opinion and I have no experience with either of those boilers.

I prefer primary secondary for almost any application. I like the idea of having the correct full flow through the boiler at all times regardless of the load, how many of zones are calling or the position of any zone valves.

I feel this is better for the heat exchanger on most any boiler due to the low water content of the modern boilers
    kcopp
  • Gordy
    Gordy Member Posts: 9,546
    edited November 2016
    Options
    System side must be more gpm than primary side. With that said in a direct piped setup. You must be able to accommodate the min. Flow rate the KHN requires.

So you must think about the smallest zone if zoning, and it's flow rate requirements. The KHN, and the uft are suppose to be able to go as low as 1 gpm. That's a large flow rate for a small zone depending on the requirements.
  • Solid_Fuel_Man
    Solid_Fuel_Man Member Posts: 2,646
    Options