Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Removing compression tanks - tricks? tools?

Options
rlaggren
rlaggren Member Posts: 160
The tank wants to stay and at the moment it's stronger than me. Good defensive position because there's not enough room beneath the make-up water fixture and the top of the tank to get a wrench on it. I suppose I could give it a bear hug but I would need the 3rd and 4th hand to counter torque - and even than it's not clear who would win.

Just wondering. Thinking some kind of strap wrench?

Rufus
disclaimer - I'm a plumber, not a heating pro.

Comments

• Tinman
    Tinman Member Posts: 2,808
    Options
    What kind of wrench are you using? Pipe wrenches and adjustable wrenches have wide jaws compared to open end wrenches.
    If there truly isn't room for a wrench (I have my doubts), then it was twisted on by hands.
    Steve Minnich
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,158
    Options
    Are you trying to go around an 18" diameter tank? You can build a strap wrench with any piece of webbing. I use my motorcycle tie downs, or a web tow strap if I need a large "soft" wrench.

A loop on the end, thread through the loop and pull the opposite direction on the web.

If there are other connections on the tank, use them as another wrench. Have two taps out the end of the tank? Thread a 2X4 through those as a wrench.
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • Solid_Fuel_Man
    Solid_Fuel_Man Member Posts: 2,646
    Options
    I like to use an old automotive serpentine belt and a pair of wide jaw vice grips. Slip the belt around the tank, and clamp with the vice grips. You will now have a handle to tug on. Have not broken a belt yet, they have Kevlar in them.

Taylor
    Serving Northern Maine HVAC & Controls. I burn wood, it smells good!
    delta T