Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

lifespan of a GRUNDFOS Circulater

rt_2
rt_2 Member Posts: 86
edited September 2016 in THE MAIN WALL
I posted this same post under the category of Solar but I thought it would get a larger exposure if I posted it here. Here's my situation.
I use a Grundfos circulator for my solar EVAC system. I've been using it for about 8 or 9 years now. Any idea what the lifespan of one of these pumps would be. The reason I ask is we are headed to FL for the winter again. In the past, I use to cover the array with a tarp so it did not run while we're gone. Last year, I ended up installing a heat exchanger in the loop so I can take advantage of the hot solar heated glycol and dump the heat in the basement. We had a fairly mild winter last year but I did burn only 1/2 of the fuel oil used to heat my house compared to previous years. So I believe it's working.
I'm afraid of the pump possible failing while I'm gone and end up with a mess. I'm thinking over the life of this pump, it probably has run on average 8 hours a day for the last 8 or 9 years. Am I running on borrowed time?

This is the circulator:
https://www.amazon.com/Grundfos-UPS15-58FRC-3-Speed-Circulator-59896343/dp/B003XEYLU0

Comments

• hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,786
    Have you checked the glycol.. When glycol is overheated from stagnation or no load condition the inhibitors break down and the ph starts dropping.

Check and see what the ph of the fluid is from the tech sheet, Some may run 10- 11 ph, when new once it drops into the 8's then 7's, time to flush and clean and refill.

If the ph has dropped it indicate the system has been over-heating.

I would only use the very best, high temperature, HD solar fluids.

You were able to find an ultra high temperature from Tyfocor when evac tubes were popular a few years back.