Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Maintaining minimum flow w/o P/S -differential bypass? bypass zone? flow switches? ideas?

Options
keyote
keyote Member Posts: 659
edited August 2016 in Radiant Heating

I just read back over when i first brought this up with the TT, I have since come to understand a lot more about what complicates the answer minimum loads, zone size, even given temperature and flow. And am considering this lochinvar 10-1 modulator to solve some issues you pointed out, but its raised this piping through issue again my mind.
But obviously Im still a novice.And throw around terms i barely understand so please forgive.
Look I bought into the idea of green building,radiant heat, mod coms, advanced controls and ecm pumps, even solar assist eventually so im kind of fixated on going the extra mile to reduce energy, it may be the technology is simply not up to the hype yet, and ill have to accept that, already i learned that putting actuators on loops is BS and will make my zone as large as need be for the 10-1.

Attached are the non P/S details of the the two 10-1 modcoms, lochinvar is my favorite its got incredible control and explains it in fairly good detail between the manual and their training videos, I have talked to them they are adamant it can be piped w/o P/S,one of the details even deletes the extra pump for the indirect and puts it on a zone valve [see that wasnt a crazy idea]. They are also adamant they built this machine to work with variable speed pumps and there is much detail about how they integrate that into the control matrix.