Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

A new garage

Options
FranklinD
FranklinD Member Posts: 399
Howdy, Wall-Folk...

I've decided to request advice from the largest (and brightest) heating-related knowledge base on the 'net.

I'm a mechanic by trade (people get stumped around here when I refer to myself as an automotive technician, so I say mechanic). I take care of my small city's aging fleet of police and, now, fire vehicles. Anyway...

My current garage, built in the 50's, is crumbling. The slab is cracked into quadrants, the roof is sagging, and someone put on an addition that leaks like a sieve. So I'm looking at plans to replace it, and due to where I live, heat it comfortably and efficiently.

I spend a goodly amount of time out there...I take jobs on the side by word-of-mouth only, and average about a vehicle per week. I really enjoy the diagnostic issues that stump other shops and have had many referrals come my way via local dealers (I was a Ford Master Tech for 8 years). I also do a ton of custom low-voltage electrical, custom harnesses, and so on. I've been using a design temp of 60, though while working I like it a little bit cooler.

The garage will likely be 24x30, with a hopefully 12 ft ceiling, though I may be limited to 10 ft finished height. It's too early to guess at heat loss numbers, but anyway...