Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Refreshing the boiler room

Options
BrianPhilly
BrianPhilly Member Posts: 7
edited February 2016 in THE MAIN WALL
Hi all,

I'm a mechanical engineer but new to this site and home boilers - I am doing some research into replacing the very old LAARS mini-therm (continuous pilot JV 160k) that's in the house I purchased. I've put a 3 winters on the JV160 and it's certainly been a learning experience, having moved some of the baseboards, hunted down and fixed leaks, drained/refilled/bled the system, cut in some bypass piping. It's actually working quite well recently, but the rennovations on the other 1 BR apartment (duplex building, 1600 sf total) and I would like the tennants to have some sort of thermost.

Currently there are 3 x 1/2" circuits, two about 60 feet and the third about 100 feet ,much of which is finned baseboards. ( The B&G100 pump seems to be far too much pump for what I've got here), and the boiler is definitely oversized. It's currently operating around the "minimum input 62,000 BTU" on the nameplate, about a 60% turndown, which still bounces off the high temp limit (~190F) on occasion, colder nights with the apartment zone valved off.

Between the ancient (70s?) boiler that used to pop and bang on a regular basis until I put in the bypass piping, and the 1990's Bradford white water heater, I know this stuff is on borrowed time, and if i'm going to be putting in zone valves and possibly a new pump system, it only seems logical to consider going with a new boiler too. A direct-replacement 85% mini therm with induced draft is rather affordable and could be sized a bit more reasonably, but I can't help but eye the Mascot series on their website and imagine saving some money, modernizing the boiler room, and eliminating that old HWH in one foul swoop.