Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Air Adjustment on Beckett AWG w/ Burnham V84 (2003)

OILBTU
OILBTU Member Posts: 3
Well, I'm just getting into this. Don't have all the tools yet but I do have thermometer (thermocouple on a Fluke meter), a new Bacharach spot tester, appropriate boiler brush, a pressure gauge, and a Dwyer 460 draft gauge.

I first changed the spin-on oil filter and before doing anything else, I checked the draft (at flue and over fire) and stack temp. The drafts were fine at 0.3 in the stack and 0.1 in the boiler. But the net stack temp was about 525 degrees -- a little hot no? I checked the air settings, they were at 2 for the band and 10 for the shutter. I then checked the fuel pressure and found it to be correct at 140 psi (I used a known good pressure gauge). I next removed the Beckett AWG burner from the boiler (to allow easier access to parts) and removed, cleaned, and re-adjusted air tube, burner head (a V1), electrodes, etc. I also replaced nozzle, a Delavan solid cone 1.10 gph (at 100psi) 60 degree, and replace the oil pump strainer and gasket. Everything was set up to Burnham specs (pretty much the same as Beckett specs and pretty much the same as I found everything except I moved nozzle line assembly forward by 3/16 in. consistent with Burnham specs).

Everything went together just fine (very easily now that everything is clean) and start-up was perfect. The flame looks great to this laymen. I re-checked draft figures and they were unchanged and, after running 5 minutes plus, net stack temps were unchanged at 525 degrees.