Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

How does getting hot water work? How long should it take to get a 40 gallon tank of hot water?

Options
I am not a heating professional so please comment back in simple terms.

I want to understand how heating water and storing in 40 gallon tank works? And also how long should it take to get that 40 gallon tank with hot water.
I have a system 2000 with a Heat Exchanger(HX) and external 40 gallon water tank. Also 2 other zones for home heating.
Say all the 40 gallon is used up and water coming out is not hot, so now cold water, from external source like well, passes through HX say at a rate of 4 gallons/minute and heats water and passes to storage tank. This goes on until at least 40 gallons capacity (for about 10 minutes).
Since water may not get heated to the storage tank temperature of say 150 degrees in one run through the HX, now the circulator stops the external cold water flow and takes the water from the tank and circulates it back to HX and continues this process until the storage tank water is at 150 degrees.

Is this description correct?
How long would it take for this whole process to complete?

It takes about 2 hours for me right now. I had gotten responses from other post earlier.
I am looking at the HX as it could be clogged from non-treated well water.
I have been told to check the dip tube in the aquabank and also 006 has no impeller (meaning that the pump is not actually pumping water through - or something like that)
Thank you for the responses in advance.

Comments

• lchmb
    lchmb Member Posts: 2,997
    Options
    on average i find the system 2000 can heat a tank of water from cold to set temp in a very short time (1/2 hour). If your running out of HW at all it tells me something is failing.. have someone take a look at it so you start saving money...