Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

How low should water level be in indicator before boiler automatically shuts down?

garimh
garimh Member Posts: 13
We moved into a new house last year that has an old steam boiler (not sure how old but it's an HB Smith G210). So, I'm fairly new to steam heat.

Last year I had a problem with leaking radiator vents, etc. which was forcing me to add water to boiler every few days. I thought I had all leaks accounted before this season started for but now with winter here and boiler running often, I find the water level indicator is dropping about an inch or two every few days.

Prior to reading of this site yesterday, I was blowing down until water runs clear after turning off boiler and allowing it to cool. I'm now reading that I should be doing it with boiler on to test low water cut off, which brings me to my question. How low should water in indicator be before the boiler shuts down? Because I had it down to about a half inch of water in glass and it was not turning off. I got a bit nervous at that point so shut if off manually, will let it cool, refill and turn back on but I'm wondering if I needed to keep going to properly test. If not, I'll have to have a pro come in to check it.

As for the refilling, all of my returns are above ground and I have no visible leaks. I'm wondering if perhaps there is a leak in boiler and will look for white smoke from chimney. Any other ideas? Or maybe the amount of water I'm putting is in normal for an old boiler?

Comments

• BobC
    BobC Member Posts: 5,489
    You will have to empty the gauge glass (or very close to empty) to trip the LWCO. I would test it with the boiler cold the first time to be sure it works.

The low water cut off should be cleaned every year. What kind does the boiler use, post a picture if your not sure.

Bob