Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

30 year old oil boiler conversion to mod con propane

Ok so I'm a novice when it comes to this stuff but I'm looking for guidance from all of the knowledgeable people on here.
I live in southern New Hampshire. My house is over 30 years old. The current oil boiler was installed when the house was built. The boiler has been "rebuilt" I have been told at least once. I know one of these days it's probably going to leave me stranded and that's what I want to avoid. I'm wondering first off if it would be wise to switch to propane that is already on my property with its higher efficiency. I have heard both good and bad thing about the new gas mod con boilers and don't know exactly what true and what's sales pitches from the local heating guys. I currently have a an indirect hot water heater also that I have been told is the best way to maintain my domestic hot water supply. Problem I have with the super store is I run out of hot water with one shower. It takes 15-20 min to replenish the full 40 gallons after the shower has been completed. I can't even fill a bath tub to an adult level with my current set up. I'm wondering if my current oil boiler is undersized or just plain set up wrong. I would like to switch to a new LP mod con and possibly get rid of the 40 gallons of hot water I'm keeping warm all day and night. Also I'm seeking to reduce my heating cost as well due to my 2400 sq ft house costing me $3400 to keep at 67* for5 months. If anyone could help it would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Paul48
    Paul48 Member Posts: 4,469
    You're planning for next spring?
  • njtommy
    njtommy Member Posts: 1,105
    edited November 2015
    Well a nice mod boiler would be a nice set up with some either extra storage capacity for DHW, but it may not be your best option.