Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Manifold Question

Options
jb9
jb9 Member Posts: 104
Hello,

I am new to Radiant Floor heating, but I am trying to increase my understanding. I am installing a system in a new house and have some questions about manifolds. The house will be 4 zones, 2 floors and 1500 sq. ft. Do I need two manifolds (one for each floor)? What is the best location for a manifold? If I don't think I will add on to the house, should I just purchase a 4 loop manifold? What is the optimal way to mount a manifold? Which is superior in quality (SS or brass)?

That's a good start for now. I will start compiling a list of materials and follow up when folks make recommendations. I want to thank the many knowledgeable folks here in advance.

Thanks.

Comments

• Rich_49
    Rich_49 Member Posts: 2,766
    Options
    a 4 loop manifold in a 1500 sq ft home is not advisable in most cases . Maybe if it is a super insulated home it could do but not any I've seen . How did you come up with this plan and the zoning strategy ?
    Was a heat loss done room by room ? Who , if anyone assisted you in determining loop lengths , spacing , flow rates supply water temps and head loss ? We will be more than glad to help you but need more information . What boiler will you use for this system ? How will domestic hot water be produced . Do you intend to put southern facing rooms with plenty of glass on the same zone with rooms that do not share solar heat gain characteristics ? Many things must be thought of to design and install a properly operating radiant system that will meet your goals and expectations .

Everyone is an expert until start up and the weeks that follow .
    You didn't get what you didn't pay for and it will never be what you thought it would .
    Langans Plumbing & Heating LLC
    732-751-1560