Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Boiler cycling

Options
jman1970
jman1970 Member Posts: 3
I just purchased a my first house. The house came with a GSA Gas-Fired Steam Boiler. A couple of weeks ago, we had a cold weekend. The boiler wouldn't kick on. I reset the damper using the tiny button, and the boiler kicked on. The boiler keeps shutting itself off after about 5-10 minutes, and then will cycle back on after about 10 minutes, but doesn't seem to stay on long enough to hear up all of the radiators. The pressure gauge is constantly reading 0 psi. If I reset the damper, the boiler kicks on, but again only temporarily.

Comments

• jbmoff
    jbmoff Member Posts: 76
    Options
    Not an expert here, but I have had some experience with steam in my current and previous homes. You will probably have to post a little more information here. Most of the guys are EXTREMELY helpful and know their stuff, but they also need you to provide many details.

Short cycling can come from many aspects....

Just a quick note - even though it just may be the damper control:
    Many pressure gauges, especially if they are the ones that are installed with the new boiler (hence with the plumbing code), cannot measure the ounces of steam on which many systems actually operate, so it is hard to tell if that gauge is accurate.
    I also know if your main lines are not vented properly, short cycling can occur...as well as when your boiler is too big for the connected load. Usually, I believe, the boiler runs a bit longer than 5-10 minutes if the above is a part of your problem.

Good Luck!
  • KC_Jones
    KC_Jones Member Posts: 5,737
    Options
    jman1970 said:

If I reset the damper, the boiler kicks on, but again only temporarily.